Good Advertising

October 29, 2010

I was teaching my Bradley class the other night, when Gabe, age 30 now, quietly passed through the room. When he was gone, one of my students asked me who he was. I said, “Oh, that is one of my grown-up Bradley babies, our fourth son.” And she said, “Wow!! What a HANDSOME, healthy-lookin’ guy!” I often stress in class that moms need to eat very conscientiously in order to grow a “blue ribbon baby”, and I check every week to make sure they are eating an optimal diet. I could just see the wheels turning in this mom’s head, saying to herself, “I want to grow one like that!” My sons definitely are good advertising.
Another time, years ago, when Ben was a teenager, he was also passing through the room during one of my classes. One of the dad’s-to-be said, “Hold on there! This is a moment of truth. We want to know if your mom feeds you guys as good as she makes us eat.” Ben stopped, looking slightly amused. “So, do you ever eat Ding-Dongs?” Wanting to answer truthfully, Ben asked, “What exactly IS a Ding-Dong?” The room erupted in laughter! And the guy said, “Well, I guess that answers my question!” I could have hugged Ben!

One Response to “Good Advertising”

  1. As my mother use to say, “Proof is in the pudding.”

Leave a comment